Professor Clive Baldock named ACGR President Elect

November 2022

Professor Clive Baldock from Western Sydney University has been endorsed as President Elect of the Australian Council for Graduate Research (ACGR).

The ACGR Annual General Meeting, held at ANU in Canberra on November 14, was part of proceedings for ACGR’s two-day National Meeting attended by more than 90 delegates from Australia and New Zealand universities.

Professor Baldock has held previous graduate research leadership roles at the universities of Tasmania and Wollongong, and is the current Dean of Graduate Studies and Researcher Development at Western Sydney University.

He has been awarded Fellowships of the Australian Institute of Physics, the Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine, the Institute of Physics (UK) and the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (UK) and has guided the successful completion of over 35 HDR candidates.

Professor Baldock will commence the President Elect role on 1 January 2023 and transition to the role of President of ACGR in 2024 and 2025. Current ACGR President Professor Imelda Whelehan continues in the role throughout 2023.

Two incoming ACGR committee members were also elected for the 2023-2024 term. Professor Wendy Wright (Federation University) and Professor Ann Evans (ANU) join current ACGR President Professor Imelda Whelehan (UWA) and continuing committee members Professor Justin Zobel (University of Melbourne) and Professor Susan Kinnear (Central Queensland University).

Dr Simon Moss (Charles Darwin University) and Professor Anne-Marie Hede (Victoria University) will stand down from their committee roles on 1 January 2023 having completed two-year terms.