Registrations are now open for our first national meeting for 2020 to be held virtually on November 12 and 13.

The jam -packed program will be  practical, stimulating and forward thinking. As well as sharing important operational practices and strategies amongst members, we will also take the opportunity to engage with national and international experts.

Sessions will include:

  • Surviving COVID19 – Managing the ongoing operational impacts of COVID – project and progress management, examination, maintaining quality of supervision
  • COVID Recovery – How to keep graduate research on the university agenda in an environment of funding cuts, student recruitment and retention challenges
  • International perspectives on the future of Graduate Research beyond COVID
  • Good Practice in Graduate Research – online and remote candidature, respectful research training and supervisor development and quality
  • Managing through change – how to look after ourselves and our colleagues in challenging times

International and national contributors will include

  • Professor Susan Porter, Dean and Vice-Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, University of British Columbia
  • Professor Sally Pratt, (previous) Vice Provost for Graduate Programs, University of Southern California
  • Professor David Bogle, Head of the Graduate School, University College London
  • Professor Deborah Terry, Chair UA and Vice Chancellor, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Alex Zelinsky, Vice Chancellor, The University of Newcastle
  • Professor Pascale Quester, Vice Chancellor, Swinburne University
  • Professor Emeritus, Frank Larkins, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor Zlatko Skrbis, Provost and incoming VC, Australian Catholic University

As always, the focus of our meeting will be on interaction and support and numbers will be limited to ensure that you can network and engage with your colleagues as much as possible.

To accommodate the time zones for all of our members, we will run three session on both days of the meeting (Thursday 12 and Friday 13 November) as follows

NZ ACT, NSW, Vic, Tasmania Qld NT and SA WA
Session 1 1-2.30 11-12.30 10-11.30 10.30 – 12 8- 9.30
Session 2 3.00 – 4.30 1-2.30 12-1.30 12.30 – 2 10 – 11.30
Session 3 5- 6.30 3-4.30 2 -3.30 2.30 – 4 12-1.30

Registration is free for one representative from each full member institution and reduced to a very affordable $70 for additional and associate/international members. However numbers are strictly limited to 2 per institution. Register your delegates now.

Proudly sponsored by




Meeting 1 2021

Subject to COVID restrictions, our first national meeting in 2021 will be held in conjunction with the Quality in Postgraduate Research Conference in Adelaide.  Proposed date for the ACGR meeting is Monday April 12 2021.

Past Meetings and Papers

November 2019Innovation CampusUniversity of Wollongong
May 2019BrisbaneGriffith University
November 2018MelbourneDeakin University
April 2018AdelaideACGR Inc
November 2017Ho Chi Minh City, VietnamRMIT Vietnam
April 2017CairnsJames Cook University
April 2016AdelaideACGR Inc
November 2015CanberraUniversity of Canberra
April 2015SydneyUNSW Australia
Nov 2014 Melbourne RMIT University
May 2014 Adelaide UNSW Australia
Nov 2013 Hobart University of Tasmania
May 2013 The University of Queensland, Brisbane The University of Queensland
Nov 2012 Victoria University, Melbourne The University of Queensland Victoria University
Apr 2012 Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg The University of Queensland
Nov 2011 Dunedin, New Zealand University of Otago
May 2011 Perth Edith Cowan University
Nov 2010 Parramatta University of Western Sydney
Apr 2010 Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg University of Adelaide
Nov 2009 Tweed Heads Southern Cross University
Apr 2009 Melbourne The University of Melbourne
Nov 2008 Sydney University of New South Wales
Apr 2008 Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg University of Adelaide
Nov 2007 Auckland University of Auckland
Jun 2007 Rydges Tradewinds, Cairns James Cook University
Nov 2006 Hobart University of Tasmania
Apr 2006 Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg University of South Australia
Oct 2005 Perth University of Western Australia
May 2005 Rydges Southbank, Brisbane Griffith University
Oct 2004 Sydney University of Sydney
Apr 2004 Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg James Cook University
Nov 2003 Canberra University of Canberra
May 2003 Darwin Northern Territory University
Nov 2002 Melbourne Deakin University
Apr 2002 Adelaide The University of Queensland
Oct 2001 Canberra Australian National University
May 2001 Fremantle Edith Cowan University
Nov 1900 Hobart University of Tasmania
Apr 1900 Adelaide University of Southern Australia
Nov 1999 Canberra University of Canberra
Apr 1999 Melbourne University of Melbourne
Nov 1998 Camperdown University of Sydney
Apr 1998 Adelaide Adelaide University
Oct 1997 Mt Eliza Monash University
Apr 1997 Canberra Australian National University
Oct 1996 Brisbane The University of Queensland
Apr 1996 Adelaide Adelaide University
Nov 1995 Coogee University of New South Wales