Australian Council of Graduate Research Announces Executive Committee for 2024

December 2023

The Australian Council of Graduate Research (ACGR) is pleased to announce the new Executive Committee for the year 2024, bringing together distinguished graduate research leaders to guide the Council in its mission to enhance the quality of graduate research education.

The ACGR thanks Professor Imelda Whelehan from the University of Western Australia, whose tenure as President concludes at the end of 2023. Professor Whelehan’s exemplary leadership, unwavering commitment, and dedication has been instrumental in guiding the Council’s mission to expand and enhance the quality of graduate research education. Professor Whelehan will remain on the Executive Committee for 2024 in the position of Immediate Past President.

Taking over the reins on 1st January, 2024 as the incoming President is Professor Clive Baldock from Western Sydney University. With a wealth of experience and a commitment to advancing graduate research, Professor Baldock looks forward to leading the ACGR into its next chapter of innovation and collaboration.

The ACGR expresses sincere gratitude to Professor Susan Kinnear from Central Queensland University for her dedicated four years of service on the Executive Committee. Professor Kinnear’s contributions have significantly shaped the Council’s initiatives and programs, fostering a positive impact on the Australian graduate research community.

The ACGR is pleased to announce the re-election of two esteemed members to the Executive Committee:

  • Professor Chris Abbiss from Edith Cowan University
  • Professor Justin Zobel from the University of Melbourne

The ACGR also welcomes Professor Louise Sharpe from the University of Sydney as a newly elected member of the Executive Committee. Professor Sharpe’s expertise and fresh perspectives will contribute to the Council’s efforts in fostering excellence in graduate research.

Professor Ann Evans from Australian National University and current ACGR Secretary, Professor Wendy Wright from Federation University will continue into the second year of their 2-year terms on the ACGR Executive Committee.