ACGR Update

ACGR members update for December 2023

December 2023

As the end of the year fast approaches it also sees Professor Imelda Whelehan conclude her term as ACGR President. Imelda has enjoyed steering the ACGR ship through the headwaters of the Australian Universities Accord process, a change-over of Executive Directors, and an extensive 2 year program of events and initiatives to support members. She will continue on the Executive Committee as Immediate Past President and is looking forward to the comfort of the ‘back seat’! She would like to extend special thanks to Tracy Sullivan for her amazing contribution as Executive Director throughout 2024 and welcome Professor Clive Baldock as incoming President. The rest of the  2024 Executive Committee comprises Professor Justin Zobel, Professor Ann Evans, Professor Chris Abbiss, Professor Wendy Wright and Professor Louise Sharpe.

We extend our sincere appreciation to Professor Susan Kinnear who has given four years of dedicated service to the efforts of ACGR and will be much missed.

We had 100 colleagues participate over the two days of the November Member Meeting conversing on a range of topical and important issues. Stemming from these conversations we’ve acted on your feedback that you’d like more opportunities to share resources with colleagues and are launching the ‘Member Resource Share’ section of the Monthly Member Update. If you have resources you’d like to share with colleagues or would like to make a call out to members to share resources  you can now do this via the ACGR Update.

Looking to 2024 we encourage you to mark April 15 and 16  in your calendars as we look forward to gathering again in person at the University of South Australia for the April Member Meeting. Registrations will open in February. Also keep in mind the closing date for the ACGR Awards for Excellence on February 16th 2024. Recognising the exemplary work undertaken in graduate research across the sector we look forward to receiving your nominations.

Closing out another productive year at ACGR we wish you all an enjoyable and relaxing festive season and look forward to engaging with you in what is shaping up to be an exciting 2024.

Best regards

Imelda Whelehan, ACGR President
Tracy Sullivan, Executive Director

Member's Content:

Please enter the password for access: