Impact Blog

A/Prof Lauren Ball wins 2022 ACGR Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Supervision

May 2022

2022 ACGR Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Supervision sponsored by ResearchMaster

Associate Professor Lauren Ball of Griffith University was announced as the winner of the 2022 ACGR Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Supervision.

Sponsored by ResearchMaster, the award recognises exceptional and innovative supervision of graduate research candidates. It is open to individual HDR supervisors or teams of supervisors. Nominations are assessed on their demonstrated track record of achieving successful candidate outcomes as well as engagement in high quality supervisory practice and research supervision leadership.

As Associate Professor at the Menzies Health Institute Queensland at Griffith University, Dr Ball was recognised for her student-centred, collaborative and impact focussed approach to research supervision.

The award judging panel noted that in a relatively short career as a HDR supervisor, Dr Ball has achieved exceptional supervision outcomes. Over a seven-year period she has overseen the successful and timely completion of 10 PhD candidates and 28 Masters/Honours research students, 18 of which achieved overall Class 1 Honours or equivalent. Dr Ball currently has 11 PhD candidates under her supervision.

Dr Ball’s philosophy encompasses a strong focus on developing the research, engagement and leadership skills of candidates for beyond graduation. As such, the PhD candidates supervised to completion by Dr Ball have enjoyed exceptional career outcomes. All ten have obtained competitive employment in roles of their choosing.

Acknowledged as a highly sought-after PhD supervisor, Dr Ball’s national and international profile regularly attracts high-achieving students from abroad, interstate as well as Griffith undergraduate students continuing onto further study.\

The judging panel noted that under Dr Ball’s supervision, research students have an exceptionally high sense of belonging to Griffith University and their research team. Additionally, they also gain key understanding of the importance of their work and how the skills developed during their research training can be used to foster highly successful research careers

Special Commendations were also announced for Professor Susanne Schmidt of The University of Queensland, Professor Karen Malone of Swinburne University of Technology and Associate Professor Ilaria Vanni Accarigi of University of Technology Sydney.

1 comment

Neil Harris says:

Congratulations to A/Prof Lauren Ball. An outstanding HDR supervisor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *